I love debating SEO

Discussion in 'SEO and Marketing' started by John Hernandez, Dec 15, 2015.

Share This Page

1. John Hernandez

John Hernandez Member

There are so many authorities on SEO its not even funny. I can link to 20 different "the right way" SEO sites without even thinking about it. But what a lot of these sites do not provide is all the little tricks we learn along the way.

I think that I have been studying and tweaking SEO for the last 6 years and so much has changed, stayed the same, and simply become extinct.

I know there are guys out there who have been "SEO Hackers" since the age when keyword stuffing a page actually worked. And gibberish would rank 1 on page 1 of Google if you wanted it to, but those days are gone and I really entered the game after that.

There are some cool things though, not written in your average SEO guides, that you can do on anything, whether it be a blog or your own evergreen site.

One of the ones I love is internal linking for the specific purpose of directing attention to pages that, for some reason or another, you can't rank for crap.

I have had more of these pages than I can count. I have tried everything on them to be honest. I have pushed almost anything to page 2, but that might as well be page 500 for any real use of my own.

But what I do, so that I can get more organic traffic to them, is find all the pages I have ranked on page 1, even with different keywords, and point to those pages in some way that is highly relevant and long tail preferably.

Though to be honest, I have a ton of affiliate blogs that I randomly link to pages I want to be seen. But these blogs are not my "main sites" so it doesn't worry me much.

Its simple enough. I have some competition that I can't rank this page over, it just won't happen. So I analyze them a bit, and then find my other pages that are ranking, and push some long tail keyword juice towards those pages I can't rank on page 1, whether they are on page 2 or 789.