Which ecommerce software do you use?

Discussion in 'Building Your Business' started by JHustle, Feb 21, 2016.

Share This Page

1. JHustle

JHustle New Member

I'm just getting into the ecommerce game and there sure are ALOT of options when it comes to ecommerce software.

Shopify, Big Commerce, Open Cart, Magento, Woocommerce etc Just to name a few... I personally chose shopify and my reasoning was simple.

I don't have much capital to hire experts/programmers (which I am not), furthermore I'm not interested in learning the ins and outs of ecommerce softwares, I'm more interested in working on my business. Shopify seemed like the most "out of the box" solution that could get my store running ASAP.

However, thinking further down the line, when I have more capital to invest in the eCommerce site itself, I started wondering which software is "superior". What are the benefits and negatives of the respective softwares?

So what made you choose the eCommerce software you chose?

2. ...

... Active Member

Open Cart for me... it's not bad at all. It is simple to use and it worked out of the box but it is hardly anything special. Though maybe your ecommerce software isn't supposed to be anything special.

I did not look at Shopify, Bigcommerce, or Volusion when I decided because I was a cheapass and only was looking at free things. Besides that Shopify rubbed me the wrong way with charging 2% just to use a different gateway.

For the free ones Magento looked like a full time job to get working and I hate using WordPress for non blogs. Open Cart was the last one standing I guess and it was very easy to get running fast.

Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  3. Simseen

Simseen Member

WooCommerce for me - I've used it to all my ecommerce project.

4. Golan

Golan Established Member

My friends vouch for Prestashop, I want to try it on my next project.

dzianis likes this.
  5. Adrian59

Adrian59 New Member

I prefer Magento

6. emp

emp Senior Member